Middle School Motivation?

Image

I discovered this week that a big obstacle I will meet this semester is the students’ lack of motivation to complete their class work and homework.  Most of the students appear to be actively participating in class discussions; however, they choose to not complete any of their work, which negatively affects their grade.  Over the next two weeks before I officially take over teaching I need to brainstorm effective ways to get my students motivated to complete their work.

This week I also had the opportunity to create a Roaring 20’s Glog to introduce the topic to the students.  Here’s a link to the finished product: http://mslynch17.edu.glogster.com/roaring-20s/.

About Sloan

I am currently getting my Masters in Education from Virginia Tech. I am really excited about this year because it will be the first time I am teaching in a classroom. I will be sharing all of my successes and challenges that I face throughout my teaching in this blog. Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Middle School Motivation?

  1. Cathy Cocke says:

    This is a big change from last semester and I look forward to seeing how you change your teaching strategies for the age group.
    It seems as though you have come upon a problem already that is common in all grades and that is completion of homework and classwork. I think you have hit upon some possible issues (not knowing how to do their work, bored, or unmotivated). You mentioned a parent-teacher conference. There seems to be a great number who are not motivated to complete their work. What is the parent involvement with the majority of the students?
    Sounds like things are moving along nicely!

Leave a comment